legumes.

I have been eating a very lentil-heavy diet lately, which is gooooooood I think!! They are delicious, versatile, filling and don’t make my stomach hurt.

Ch-ch-ch-check out what I made for dinner tonight! Finally got around to squash-experimentation (I’ve never cooked squash before):

Turned out well! Just added some olive oil and chili seasoning. The squash was added to some spicy lentils –

Recipe adapted from Runner’s World:

1 tablespoon olive oil
1 onions, diced
3 cloves garlic, minced
3 stalks celery, diced
2 small carrots, diced
1 zucchini, chopped
1 cup brown or green lentils, dry
1 tsp cayenne
2 teaspoons ground cumin
1 cup water or vegetable broth
3 tablespoons dried cranberries, minced
Handful walnut pieces
1 cup salsa (I used black bean and corn)

In a large frying pan over medium heat, saute onion, garlic, celery, carrots, and zucchini in the olive oil for five minutes or until vegetables are soft.

Stir in the lentils and spices. Cook for one minute. Add the water/broth, cranberries, and walnuts. Cover and cook for 20 minutes, or until the lentils are tender (add more water/broth as needed). Remove the lid and cook an additional 10 minutes, stirring often, until lentils are thick. Fold in the salsa.

***

A much needed dance party was had at Zaphod’s yesterday – I kind of love that place. Think I’ve been at least once a week since I moved to the Ottawa area. I will miss it when I’m back in Waterloo!

Next time I should wear more breathable clothing ’cause I was rocking the sweaty beast look towards the end…not particularly attractive, I imagine. OH WELL, it was worth it. You can’t NOT dance when they play such good music.

***

Les blondies –

I’ve made these soooo many times but they’re always different! This batch had walnuts and unsweetened coconut. I think the friend who they were destined for enjoyed them πŸ™‚

2 thoughts on “legumes.

  1. I just came across your blog and absolutely love it… everything about it is amazing and I’m really enjoying reading your posts. All of your food looks incredible and makes me want to head to the kitchen right now and start cooking. Would you consider posting the recipes to the dishes/baked goods that you cook/bake? I’d definitely like to try to make them myself- that’s how delicious they look.

    Keep on postin’; I’m looking forward to reading more…

  2. Thanks so much! I will definitely be posting recipes more frequently from now on. Let me know if you’d like me to send you a recipe for anything I’ve posted πŸ™‚ Quite a few of them come from “How It All Vegan” – I’d highly recommend it for delicious veggie meals.

Leave a Reply

