british inflections!

Something about making scones makes me start spouting off about tea-time with my version of a posh British accent. Jolly good, innit? Ahh, I cannot wait to go to Oxford and meet lovely Britons (we are doing a town planning field course there this spring).

These gingerbread scones from the Joy of Baking site turned out most wonderfully! I never would have thought the spicy, molasses-y flavour would work so well in scones.


Recipe – modified from Joy of Baking:

Scone Dough:
1 3/4 cups AP flour
3/4 cup old fashioned rolled oats
1/3 cup light brown sugar
2 teaspoons ground ginger
1 1/2 teaspoons ground cinnamon
Pinch of ground cloves
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 teaspoons baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/2 cup cold unsalted butter, cut into pieces
Zest of ½ lemon
1/3 cup dried cranberries
1/2 cup buttermilk (I used 1 Tbsp lemon juice + enough 2% milk to make a ½ cup)
2 1/2 tablespoons unsulphured molasses
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1 tablespoon milk, to brush over top

Maple Glaze:
1/2 cup sifted icing sugar (I used 1/3 c but it turned out pretty liquidy)
1 1/2 tablespoons maple syrup
1 – 2 teaspoons milk

Preheat oven to 400 degrees F and place rack in middle of oven. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.

In a large bowl, whisk together the flour, oats, sugar, spices, baking powder, baking soda and salt.  Cut the butter into small pieces and blend into the flour mixture with a pastry blender or two knives. The mixture should look like coarse crumbs.  Stir in the lemon zest and dried cranberries.

In a separate bowl mix together the buttermilk, molasses and vanilla and then add the buttermilk mixture to the flour mixture.  Mix gently just until the dough comes together.
Transfer to a lightly floured surface and knead dough gently four or five times and then pat the dough into a circle that is about 7 inches (18 cm) round and about 11/2 inches (3.75 cm) thick. Make sure the edges are just as thick as the centre!

Cut into 8 wedges.  Place the scones on the baking sheet.  Brush the tops of the scones with milk.  Sprinkle with some rolled oats.

Place the baking sheet inside another baking sheet to prevent the bottoms of the scones from over browning (I didn’t bother, and they turned out fine). Bake for 18 – 20 minutes or until golden brown and a toothpick inserted in the middle comes out clean.  Transfer to a wire rack to cool.

To Glaze:  Mix together the glaze ingredients, adding more sugar or milk until you get the desired consistency.  It needs to be thin enough that it can be drizzled over the tops of the cooled scones.  With a spoon drizzle the glaze over the tops of the scones and let dry.

A congregation!

Other than scone-making, I’ve been enjoying my new Converse-

-the laces were a Christmas gift from mom and are made out of kimonos! Neat eh?

And surviving the first week of classes while juggling my schedule and attempting to find a part-time job for the term and a farm internship for the summer! L’fun!

My classes sound pretty good so far – I’m taking three urban planning courses, two french, and one creative writing (if I can get in).

Oh and just for fun, here’s a sampling of the silly Christmas cards I made this year-

I may have the drawing skills of an eight-year old, but I enjoy it immensely! My one and only concrete New Year’s resolution was to doodle every day. Rather insignificant, but I really believe that little bursts of creativity every day are good for the mind 🙂

7 thoughts on “british inflections!

  1. Oh wow, those look and sound amazing- Nice and spicy! It’s been ages since I made scones last, and I know my mom loves them… Maybe I’ll do a riff on these soon. 😉

  2. I love your Christmas cards 😀 And your neat present! Kimono laces are awesome. I have one that I use as a bathrobe that my step-dad got me when he was opening an office over in Japan. I’ve had it since… 5th grade I think lol, oh well. I love it! Maybe I will invest in a beautiful vintage kimono 🙂 I always imagine whoever is wearing it to be so sophisticated and lounging out on a chaise. ANYWAY, those gingerbread scones are right up my alley. When are you going to Oxford? That’s such exciting news! I’m in the same boat with classes right now. I am anticipating the Dance Improvisation class, and hoping I get an override. I NEED IT! It’s my last semester and I’m hoping to take 18-credits (all hands-on studio oof!), so it better happen lol.

    Anyhoo, hope all is well with you!

    XOXO

    http://www.ohonemorething.wordpress.com

    • Thanks for your comment! I have always wanted a vintage kimono…but I haven’t found the perfect one, yet!

      We are going to Oxford at the end of April – it actually turns out that the university we’ll be attending is closing down for the royal wedding the week we were supposed to arrive, so we’ll be spending the first week in Amsterdam instead…I am so stoked!

      Sounds like a busy busy term for you – that’s pretty neat that all your classes are hands-on…must be fun, although exhausting!

  3. Those scones look insane! Seriously, they are beasts. I want one!
    I think your drawing skills are adorable. And I support the doodling goal! I always doodle in the margins of notes during less interesting classes… I TRY to pay attention, I swear! I need to doodle more but for some reason, whenever I WANT to doodle, I can never think of WHAT to doodle. Probably because my drawing skills are so minimal that I can’t actually draw anything haha. I’ll have to work on that one!
    I’m glad you have some interesting courses this term! Hopefully it’ll be smooth sailing 🙂

Leave a Reply

