hey sunshiny day

So nice to see SUNSHINE this weekend!

I was inspired to take the camera for a nice little photo-walk this afternoon 🙂

The clear blue skies also inspired me to make “Sunny Blueberry Corn Muffins” from Vegan with a Vengeance for a brunch potluck…not sure why I never made these before because I love:
1. cornmeal
2. blueberries
3. lemons (I always eat the lemon wedges that come with drinks…I think the habit stemmed from me imitating my sister when I was young, and it stuck!)

Recipe – slightly adapted from Vegan with a Vengeance:

1/2 c all-purpose flour
1/2 c whole-wheat pastry flour
1 c cornmeal
1 Tbsp baking powder
1/2 tsp salt
3 Tbsp granulated sugar
1/4 c vegetable oil
1/4 c unsweetened applesauce
3/4 c soy milk
2 Tbsp soy yogurt (I used regular yogurt)
1 tsp vanilla extract
Zest of 1 lemon
1 dry pint blueberries

Preheat oven to 400F. Line a 12-muffin tin.

In a large bowl, mix flours, cornmeal, baking powder, salt, and sugar.

In another bowl, whisk together oil, applesauce, soy milk, yogurt, vanilla, and lemon zest.

Fold wet ingredients into dry. Add the blueberries and mix gently.

Fill muffins cups 3/4 full. Bake 20-25 min until tops are light golden brown.

*Makes 12 muffins*

Hmm somehow even with my six courses I find myself with quite a bit of spare time (still no PT job, sadly), so I’ve been trying to read lots – currently I have these three excellent books on the go:

The Geography of Nowhere, by James Howard Kunstler
Divisadero, by Michael Ondaatje
All Families are Psychotic, by Douglas Coupland

At this rate I’ll have read nearly six non-school books by the end of the month! All of your lives unled reading in bed…

Now how’s this for a weird-lookin’ breakfast bowl?

1/4 c oat bran cooked in 1 c water + a splash of soy milk
1 small banana
1 giant spoonful canned pumpkin
A bit of cinnamon currant PB
Cinnamon
About 1/4 c leftover cooked quinoa mixed in at the end

I’m in love with this red and white quinoa blend…it’s a little crunchier than the plain kind, so it makes a nice addition to oat bran. It is also a good ingredient with which to beef up soup! This is pumpkin-carrot soup from a can with added brown lentils and quinoa.

Off to have some fun on the dreadmill! At the moment, my comfortable pace is about 10:30 min mile…so there is LOTS of room for improvement! My goals for the end of this term are:

-be able to sustain a 10min mile pace comfortably
-run a 5k in 31 min 🙂

Just added this song to my gym playlist – tis a good one!

2 thoughts on “hey sunshiny day

  1. I can completely understand your delight at the sunshine, but the funny thing is it’s just too, too crazy hot here in Canberra, Australia right now! I’ve actually escaped to my parents’ house because they have air-conditioning, and never want to leave 😛

    I’m just about to copy-paste your cornmeal recipe into my ever-growing word doc of ‘to make’ recipes, as I too adore cornbread-esque treats (and they’re completely rare in Australia). Also, I’d gobble up your breakfast in a heartbeat! Particularly the flavoured peanut butter which, again, we don’t have in Aus…

Leave a Reply

