just call me farmer bradley!

Guess what! I got my farm job 🙂

This summer I’ll be working as an intern at Pilgrims’ Produce Organic Farm, in the Okanagan Valley in British Columbia!

I’m really looking forward to working OUTSIDE and learning a whole whack of practical skills – I’m sure it’ll be challenging (especially as I won’t know anyone there, and the farm is located in pretty much the hottest part of the country!), but I feel like the farm life could suit me well, as long as I remain optimistic, open-minded, and willing to listen and learn. Plus, free produce = balling.

Now I feel like I have incentive to pick up the strength training…gotta be prepared physically and mentally, y’know.

***

In the meantime, I’ve still got about a month and a half of school to go…lots of papers and tests, but I’ll get through it! Anyway, three-hour night lectures call for a bit of limerick writing 🙂
Here are a couple of recent ones:

There once was a perilous swamp
In which wayward teenagers would romp
If only they knew
The extended of the goo
It would swallow them whole with great pomp.

A gent sealed himself in a barrel
And despite the significant peril
Was launched into the Falls
Among riptide and squalls
What a shame that his vessel went feral! (I know, that one’s a bit of a stretch…)

***

I was inspired by Elise’s recipe for a mock cheese sauce, and made my own version to eat with wheatberries – my new favourite grain. It is MUY SIMPLE.

I whisked:

1 clove garlic
about 1/4 c plain almond milk
1/4 c nutritional yeast flakes
2 heaping tablespoons hummus
1/4 c sweet peas
1 Tbsp ground flax
Salt ‘n pepa

over medium heat until nice and bubbly. Serve over wheatberries! For one large serving, cook:

1/2 c wheatberries
in 1 3/4 c water

No photo, ’cause it was kind of ugly. Perhaps it will be more attractive next time…as I feel like this will become an easy dinner staple 🙂

***

One of my favourite parts of SF was walking across the Golden Gate Bridge on a breezy afternoon:

Isn’t Ms. Jess lovely in her yellow coat?

It’s so tall!!

***

My love for Stars has been somewhat renewed after listening to The Five Ghosts a bunch of  times while on holiday. Sugar pop with beautiful vocals is always a winnah!

5 thoughts on “just call me farmer bradley!

  1. i tried to comment like 5 times this morning but wordpress was being poopy (or maybe it was my comp), but either way, the gist of my comment was about (a) how im glad you liked the mock cheese sauce (b) how i adore wheatberries and needed your reminder to make them, and (c) your SF photos are gorg.

  2. ive seen a couple recipes make mock cheese sauces using peas and it sounds like such a clever idea! bet your concoction tasted wonderful- mmm nutritional yeast rocks- it tastes wonderful on so many foods and meals!

    ahhh the famous Golden Gate Bridge! i love your artistic shot of it from the rail, showing the whole side 🙂

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

