2-2

Mon Dieu, I am turning 22 tomorrow – what has happened to my youth? Hahaha, I kid.

Not too sure if I’ll be able to do anything special for my birthday on da farm, but I’m hoping to at least get out to the nearest bar to watched the Canucks game after work (haha, how convenient that I’m in BC the year the Canucks have a shot at the Stanley Cup!).

Unfortunately I won’t get to enjoy my mom’s delicious apricot-pecan butter cake this year as I’m away for the summer, but I made sure to do some baking for my own enjoyment this weekend!

These oatmeal coconut cookies are chewy and chock-full of carob chips, walnuts, dried cranberries, and dried apricots:

  • 1/4 cup butter, softened
  • 1/4 cup natural peanut butter
  • 1/2 cup + 2 Tbsp packed brown sugar
  • 1 egg
  • 1 tablespoon milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup + 2 Tbsp all-purpose flour
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1-1/2 cups rolled oats
  • 1/2 cup carob chips
  • 2/3 cup chopped walnuts
  • 1/2 cup dried cranberries
  • 8 dried apricots, chopped
  • 1/2 cup unsweetened shredded coconut
  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F (190 degrees C).
  2. In a large bowl, cream the butter, peanut butter, and brown sugar until smooth. Beat in the egg, then stir in the milk and vanilla.
  3. Combine the flour, baking soda, salt, and cinnamon; stir into the sugar mixture until well blended. Stir in the oats, chocolate chips. walnuts and coconut until evenly distributed. Drop by rounded tablespoons onto ungreased cookie sheet.
  4. Bake 10 to 12 minutes in the preheated oven for a chewy cookie or 14 minutes for a firmer cookie.
  5. Cool for 1 minute on the cookie sheet and then remove to wire rack. Cool completely and then store in tightly sealed container.

Recipe adapted from HERE

 

 

 

 

 

I also made a batch of sweet potato pecan pancakes for Sunday brunch – unfortunately they turned out just as ugly as last week’s batch (I blame it on the pan, in addition to my sub-par flipping skills) but they tasted pretty good, especially topped with a weird “sauce” of vanilla yoghurt, almond milk, applesauce, peanut butter, and cinnamon.

  • 1 small sweet potato, peeled and mashed
  • 3/4 cup whole-wheat flour
  • 1/4 cup rolled oats
  • 1-3/4 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1/4 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • 1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 3/4 cup almond milk
  • 2 tablespoons butter, melted (I had none so used 1 Tbsp oil and 1 Tbsp applesauce)
  • Pecan pieces and dried cranberries, for topping
  1. In a medium bowl, sift together flour, oats, baking powder, salt, and spices.
  2. Mix mashed sweet potatoes, eggs, milk and butter in a separate medium bowl. Blend sweet potato mixture into the flour mixture to form a batter.
  3. Preheat a lightly greased griddle over medium-high heat. Drop batter mixture onto the prepared griddle by heaping tablespoonfuls, sprinkling tops with pecans and cranberries.
  4.  Cook until golden brown, turning once with a spatula when the surface begins to bubble.

Recipe adapted from HERE

And yet another weekend scramble with onion, potatoes, eggs, and greens, sided with an overly-ripe wedge of avocado and some carrots, which I have coming out of my ears:

YUM.

I got to partake in one of my favourite past-times this weekend – thrift store shopping! There are a surprising number (4) for such a tiny town as Armstrong. I got a silly Tshirt to wear at work ($1.50):

And some really nice post earrings for $1 each:

Well, I’d best get out for a bike ride before it starts raining!


3 thoughts on “2-2

Leave a Reply

