snacktime

Since I start work around 7 or sometimes 6:30 and break for lunch at noon, I usually need something to nibble on in between furiously picking potatoes, battling rhubarb plants, attacking weeds with an assortment of garden tools, and sorting, washing, and bagging in the washhouse.

As my stash of Larabars I brought along with me from Toronto is dwindling, I figured granola bars would be a good idea!

Loosely based on a recipe from all-recipes.com

3 cups rolled oats
2/3 cup all-purpose flour
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 c unsweetened shredded coconut
1 Tbsp ground flaxseed
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
3/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/4 cup margarine, softened
3 tablespoons crunchy peanut butter
1/3 cup honey
3 tablespoons packed brown sugar

1/4 c each:
peanut butter chips
carob chips
chopped walnuts/pecans
dried cranberries
dried apricots
pumpkin seeds

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F. Lightly grease an 8×8 inch pan.

In a medium bowl combine oats, flour, baking soda, coconut, flaxseed, and cinnamon.

In a large bowl mix margarine, peanut butter, honey, vanilla, and brown sugar.

Stir in dry ingredients and assorted mix-ins.

Lightly press mixture into the prepared pan. Bake 18 to 22 minutes or until golden brown.

Let cool for 10 minutes then cut into bars.

 

 

Mine turned out quite crumbly and not really sticking together, although refrigeration helped a bit. I would suggest adding fewer mix-ins; maybe 1c in total (I went a little nuts).

I’ve also been coming up with fairly quick n easy dinners that can be used as leftovers for lunch throughout the week. One of my more successful creations thus far has been curried chickpeas, beets, and greens in coconut milk:

***

Unfortunately I wasn’t able to spend time with my fatha today as he is on the other side of the country (and heading on holiday to Switzerland tomorrow with my mom!), but I tagged along on a family outing here at the farm, which was fun! We went for a nice 24ish km bike ride at Myra Canyon, near Kelowna. SUCH a beautiful trail – it runs along an old rail corridor built between 1910 and 1916 so you get to bike over a series of trestles and tunnels carved through the rock. Stunning views of the valley down below!

I stupidly forgot my camera, but here are some pictures from the trailpeak.com:

Hopefully I’ll get a chance to go back and actually take my own photos 🙂

***

It has been a while since I’ve posted a limerick! Here’s one I found in my journal:

there once was a hare-brained young horse
who frequently strayed far off course
he cantered ‘cross meadows
while his poor master bellowed
and was launched to the ground with great force

2 thoughts on “snacktime

  1. Oh. My. Dear. Heavens. That bridge terrifies me! I truly don’t know if I could bring myself to ride over it!

    P.S. The beet[root] chickpea dish looks amazing. Yay pink food!

  2. i see your parents went to visit meine home country (please read in german accent)!! exciting.

    what a stunning bike ride that mustve been!!

Leave a Reply

