feelin’ hot hot hot

Oh hey, 30 degree weather! You’ve been a long time coming! I’m loving the sunshine and heat, although I inevitably find myself covered in a lovely film of sunscreen + sweat + dirt by the end of the day.

Clear skies make getting up in the morning so much more pleasant!

I think the plants outside are loving el sol as well.

I’m still just loving using veggies harvested from here to make easy and healthy meals…

This sweet potato curry wasn’t QUITE spicy enough for my liking, but definitely had potential! We’ve been harvesting tons of new potatoes, but sweet ‘taters won’t be ready for a while yet. However, I did use our  baby spinach and garlic scapes!

Sweet potato curry (recipe from Food Network Canada):

(Served over a mixture of brown rice, spelt, and split green peas).

One of the other workers and I wanted to bake something using strawberries and rhubarb (the only fruits in season right now) so we collaborated on some strawberry-blueberry-rhubarb muffins with a pecan crumb topping (I bought the blueberries ’cause I had a serious craving). They turned out really nicely, considering it was a wing-it kinda recipe!

Kale is a vegetable I rarely cook with, but since there’s so much of here, I figured it would make a nice, easy salad (simply mixed with 1/4 mashed avocado and some lemon juice, with walnuts sprinkled on top).

I must say, it takes a lot of self-control not to get up in the middle of the night to ravage the strawberry patch. I will just have to continue to enjoy the few leftovers from picking 🙂 RASPBERRIES and CHERRIES should be ripe soon!!!!

Fun fact: de-suckering tomato plants makes one’s hands turn green (and then black)! Evidence:

‘sall good!

2 thoughts on “feelin’ hot hot hot

  1. mmm those muffins look awesome!! i love kale! bring me some =P. do i see a hint of your tat? how’s it been?? look at your dirty hands!! haha

Leave a Reply

