80s pop gems

Nothing cheers me up quite like listening to the radio-friendly pop music of my youth (ok I only lived in the 80s for six months, but I have a strong affection for the tunes of that decade).

MOONLIGHT DESIRES

ALIVE AND KICKING

DANCING IN THE DARK

I WANNA BE YOUR SLEDGEHAMMER!

Now, some sugary goods from the past couple of weeks to go along with that syrupy sweet music:

The ushe oatmeal cookies with innumerable mix-ins (not really). I think these had raisins, walnuts, unsweetened shredded coconut, sesame seeds, and choc chips.

Yet another zucchini loaf (there are zucs aplenty on the farm these days!):

A somewhat-successful batch of chocolate chip-walnut-craisin cookies, made with honey (I actually used butter and white sugar for these!!):

Unfortunately I underbaked them and they stuck together! Oops I guess that means you have to eat several at a time…hah hah.

Recipe, adapted from Baking Bites:

Honeyed Chocolate Chip Cookies
1/2 cup butter, room temperature
1/2 cup brown sugar
1/8 cup white sugar
1/8 cup honey
1 large egg
1 1/8 cups all purpose flour
1/4 tsp baking soda
Pinch of salt
1/2 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 cup chocolate chips
1/2 cup toasted walnuts
1/2 cup dried cranberries

  • Preheat oven to 325F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  • In a large bowl, cream together butter and sugars until light and fluffy. Beat in honey and egg.
  • In a medium bowl, whisk together flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt. Gradually incorporate flour mixture into honey mixture, stirring slowly. Stir in chocolate chips, walnuts, and craisins.
  • Shape cookie dough into balls and place onto prepared baking sheet, leaving about 2 inches between each cookie to allow for the dough to spread.
  • Bake for 15 minutes, until cookies are golden brown. Cool for 3-4 minutes on the baking sheet, then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely.

Makes about 16 large cookies

***

Since I’m helping to write the weekly CSA newsletter, I took some photos of the produce being featured. First off, amazing, juicy heirloom tomatoes (I’m not sure of the particular varieties…will have to ask):

Peach plums (PEACH PLUM PEAR – side note, I had no idea Joanna Newsom is dating Andy Samberg…or was at some point…love it):

Shiro plums:

(Please ignore the greasy-looking finger: I have been applying salve to it very liberally since it is super dry/scabby/cracking and refuses to heal.)

Corn!

Foof, cornfields are so photogenic!!

This is how I’ve been spending most of my afternoons…

Breathing deeply and looking up!

One thought on “80s pop gems

  1. i still like to think most good things came from the 80’s… i mean, how can one hate it! I’m impressed with how thick and ‘fat’ your zucchini loaf is, clearly a sign of an excellent baker!! And those cookies- don’t even get me started on how good those look! omg oatmeal raisin are my favorite!!! geez, i need to come over haha ❤

    xoxo

Leave a Reply

