la poste!

It’s crazy how much mail can brighten up one’s day…especially when stuck on a farm in the middle of nowhere with noone but vegetables for company (I EXAGGERATE).

I received this wonderful assortment of reading/planning/doomful future-divining materials from mi hermana awhile ago…

An intriguing atlas of San Francisco:

Edward Gorey’s Fantod Pack, which one should consult when desiring to know of the dark and mysterious events in one’s future…

I also got a sweet sweet parcel from my farmgirl friend who is now back home, including these two cookbooks, amongst other fun things like a vintage tee and clip-on earrings!!

Healthy cooking inspiration- just what I needed 🙂

***

In my half-hearted attempts to achieve domestic-Goddess-ness, I have been making things that I normally buy, like applesauce (or apple-plum sauce, in this case)!

How it’s done:

About a dozen small summer apples, peeled
About a half-dozen ripe plums, peeled (I used peach plums)
Juice of half a lemon
About 2 Tbsp vanilla agave nectar
1 tsp ground cinnamon
1/2 tsp each nutmeg and cloves

Boil a large saucepan of water. Add apples,plums, lemon juice and agave and cook on medium about 15 min. Turn off heat and add spices.

I also used the ancient (but fully functional) food processor (my roommate snagged it for $5 from a garage sale!!) to make garlic and parsley hummus. Oh so goooooooood.

Mason jar > plastic tupperware, ALWAYS.

Recipe (approximate – my strategy with hummus is to add random quantities of ingredients and taste-test frequently):

1 c dry red lentils, cooked (I know, weird, but I actually prefer lentils to chickpeas in hummus…and they’re much easier to cook from dry as they don’t require soaking)
3 Tbsp olive oil (I used part flax oil)
2 Tbsp tahini
Juice of 1/4 lemon
3 cloves garlic
Pinch of curry powder, cumin, and coriander (just what I prefer…I’m sure you could use just about any combination of spices)
Several sprigs of fresh parsley, chopped finely

Blend all ingredients in a food processor. If the mixture is too thick, add a bit of water until it blends smoothly.

Afternoon sun-dappled toast with fresh hummus. What could be better, I ask?

One thought on “la poste!

Leave a Reply

