yam jam

Did you know that BCers call sweet potatoes (orange flesh) yams?

In my mind, this is a sweet potato:

And this is a yam:

Anyhow, whatever the orange-fleshed sweet root vegetable of goodness is called, it makes for some great veggie meals!

See:

I made another round of black bean and sweet potato burritos with stir-fried veggies (onion, garlic, green pepper, zucchini) and avocado.

That’s a wrap.

Sweet potatoes were also a key component of this Moroccan lentil stew:

Perfect meal for a slightly chilly evening (it’s been feeling distinctly autumn-like these past few days)!

Recipe:

Cook over medium heat:

1 onion
3 cloves garlic
½ c celery (I used a thinly sliced small zucchini instead)
½ c green pepper

Add:

3 c veg broth
3 c sweet potatoes, cubed
1 can diced tomatoes
1 c dry red lentils, cooked (takes 15-20 min to cook)
1 Tbsp lemon juice
2 Tbsp minced ginger
1 tsp cumin
1 tsp coriander
1 tsp curry powder
1 tsp chili powder
Salt n pepper

Bring to a boil and simmer 20 min.

Then add:

¼ c raisins (I used chopped dried apricots)
2 Tbsp peanut butter
Fresh parsley/cilantro

Turn off heat and let sit for a few min to thicken. I served it over a mix of brown rice, spelt, and split green peas, but I bet it would taste great with a hunk o’ crusty bread.

***

A couple of days ago I got my Great Fundraising Act winning bid parcel from Jessica, AKA Dairy-Free Betty – sunbutter energy balls and a bunch of other delicious goods! All together:

These smelled deeevine:

I love that they’re dipped in shredded coconut – my favourite! I’ve been nibbling on these in between tomato-picking and they are the perfect combination of salty and sweet. Next I’ll have to try them crumbled over yoghurt or perhaps some banana soft-serve…

She also included two dairy-free chocolate bars: Terra Nostra rice milk choco with almonds, and Endangered Species Dark Chocolate with Deep Forest Mint:

These should definitely last me ’til I go back to Toronto in a couple of weeks (yes, a chocolate stash is essential when one is away from home).

And finally, a pack of Artisana Cashini Butter (very excited to try this) and some superfood and wheatgrass powders:

Muchas gracias, Ms. Dairy-Free Betty!

Sadly, the days are shortening, but there have been some stunning sunsets lately –  which, of course, my dinky camera can’t really capture – but I still try!

2 thoughts on “yam jam

Leave a Reply

