call me corny

This being my last week on the farm (I’m both happy and sad about this), I’m making sure I fully enjoy all the late-summer produce, namely TOMATOES UND CORN!

Made a simple salad with heirloom tomatoes, cucumber, corn, avocado, and spelt, with a dressing of olive oil, rice wine vinegar, parsley, and cilantro.

Fresh and deeeelicious.

Look at this giant yellow brandywine tomato!

Strange, white kitty isn’t impressed…

My meals have also included plenty of stir-fries…

Beets, carrots, an assortment of leafy greens, broccoli, and red pepper, drizzled artfully (ha) with peanut sauce.

…and healthy (somewhat) vegetable-based desserts!

Zucchini squares, based on this recipe:

Ingredients for an 8-by-8 pan:

 

1/4 cup and 2 tablespoons margarine, softened

1/4 cup packed brown sugar

1 egg

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1-2 tablespoons agave nectar

3/4 cup and 2 tablespoons all-purpose flour

1/4 teaspoon salt

3/4 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 cup and 2 tablespoons unsweetened flaked coconut

1/4 cup chopped pitted dates

1/4 cup craisins

¼ cup toasted walnuts

1 cup grated zucchini

 

Directions

 

Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Grease an 8×8 inch baking pan.

 

In a large bowl, cream together the butter and brown sugar. Mix in eggs, vanilla and agave until fluffy.

 

Sift together the flour, salt, and baking powder; stir into the creamed mixture. Stir in the coconut, dates, craisins, walnuts, and zucchini. Spread batter into the prepared pan.

 

Bake in preheated oven for 35 to 40 minutes. Cut into bars when cool.

I finally took a  weekend trip to Vancouver, city of condos, giant trees, beautiful ocean views, and insanely athletic people! A few snapshots:

Kits beach

Blue bike

Granville (many people, many seagulls)

49th parallel (not my drink, but so cute, right?)

Lots of walking about with this chica

Scenes through fences

Beaches galore!

I really enjoyed Vancouver, but from what I saw, I still prefer my much-loathed hometown of Toronto =P

One thought on “call me corny

Leave a Reply

