the most wonderful soup

My sister and I made this Thai butternut squash soup but a week ago, and here I am recreating it already. Must be a winner!

For so few ingredients, it packs a flavour wallop.

Recipe, once again, is from C is for Kitchen (adapted from the Moosewood Cookbook):

1 cup coconut milk
½ teaspoon Thai red curry paste
½ tsp salt
2 cups veggie broth (I am ashamed to admit I just use boiled water and lots of Herbamare)
1 large butternut squash
1/2 lime
2 cups fresh baby spinach
Chopped cilantro (parsley is good too)
Pan-fried tofu:
8oz firm tofu
1 tbsp soy sauce
1 tsp Thai red curry paste
1 tsp vegetable oilIf you’re using fresh squash, bake whole in oven for 1.5 hours or until poked easily with a fork. In the microwave, cut lengthwise, lay skin side up in ½ inch of water and cook for five minutes. Turn and cook for another 5 minutes or until tender. Seed, peel, and chop squash. In a soup pot, whisk together the coconut milk, curry paste, salt, and broth. Add squash, cover, and bring to a simmer. Cook, covered, 10-15 minutes.

Meanwhile, prepare pan-fried tofu. Drain tofu and cut into small cubes and toss with soy sauce and the curry paste. Heat the oil in a small skillet on medium-high heat. Add the tofu and cook, stirring occasionally, for about 5 minutes. Set aside.
Lightly grate the lime peel and juice the lime. Add zest and lime juice to taste. Stir in spinach and tofu and cook until spinach wilts. Add salt to taste. Garnish with cilantro.
I put my new mini food processor to the test to see if I could make Larabar type snacks. The resounding answer: NO! I guess the blades aren’t powerful enough to really deal with dried fruit and nuts. This is what I got instead:
Certainly not a Larabar, but not bad, after a couple of hours in the freezer. I used unmeasured amounts of cooking dates, pistachio, dried cranberries, and coconut flakes, with a bit of almond milk to glue it together.
***
With so much free time, I have been doing a bit of “boredom baking” – in quarter batches, so I don’t devour TOO many sweets. Here we have some peanut butter cookies with dark chocolate discs, AKA nipples…haha.
Recipe exactly from the Mrs. Fields cookbook, so I shan’t post it. It’s a gem of a cookbook and I highly recommend it – how could you not trust this lady?
I’ve been spending a lot of time watching Streetfilms short documentaries – here’s one I find inspiring –

Contested streets: breaking New York City gridlock

Meanwhile, Toronto decides to remove bike lanes and the plans for a comprehensive network seem to change every couple of months. Three things I think need to be achieved in the near future (this is, of course, from a downtown kid’s perspective):*east-west artery stretching across the city, i.e. BIKE LANES ON BLOOR/DANFORTH, and also on Richmond and Adelaide, at least through the core
*improved access to waterfront trail – some of the Gardiner underpass sections are dicey
*completion of the West Toronto Railpath – it’s an AWESOME path through an interesting part of the city, but it’s currently only about 2km long, and is meant to extend from Cariboo Ave. in the Junction to Strachan Ave. in Liberty Village

Well, enough pontificating for now. I miss being a student. Speak of which, I should probably get crackin’ to finish up my grad school apps!
One thought on “the most wonderful soup

Leave a Reply

