boredom baking

Boredom bakin’
Dancing, shakin’
Cookie makin’
For the takin’

Right, good thing I’m not in a creative writing course at the moment.

I refuse to let my unsulfured molasses go to waste, so sorry to be boring, but here are MOAR gingersnaps! Half with red sprinkles, half with a chocolate centre.

I have a cookies-for-laundry exchange set up with a friend. [A tin of cookies in exchange for the use of some nice laundry facilities.] It’s all about bartering, people!

I feel so proud when I bother to buy dried legumes in bulk, soak them, and then use them to make a delightful meal. Sure, canned goods are more convenient, and it does take some time and planning to used dried, but they are also:
1. cheaper
2. taste better (I find canned legumes tend to taste a bit metallic)
3. provide some amusement if you like watching dried things absorb water…it’s quite fascinating, really

ANYWAY, I made curried chickpea-carrot-sweet potato soup and here’s what it looks like:

Ingredients n directions (recipe adapted from 125 Best Vegan Recipes):

Heat about 1 Tbsp olive oil in a soup pot.

Add:
1 onion, chopped finely
1 Tbsp curry powder
1 Tbsp ground cumin
Pinch of hot chili flakes

Cook 3-5 min, until onions are translucent. Then add:
1 large sweet potato, cubed
2 carrots, cubed

Cook another 5 min. Then add:
1 can crushed tomatoes
1 small can coconut milk
1/2 c soy/almond milk
3 c vegetable broth
2 c chickpeas (canned or cooked from dried)
Large handful chopped spinach

Turn heat to medium-high and cook about 10 min.

Turn down heat to low. Season with salt and pepper, and additional hot chili flakes, if you like to spice up your life (I do). Let simmer for about 20 min, or until veggies are tender. Serve sprinkled with parsley or cilantro.

Perfect (silly windy drizzly cold ridiculousness) winter meal, served with a hunk of fresh bread!
***

I have been hankering for some fresh berries (remember when I used to work on a produce farm and got to pick them straight from the fields?), but they are darned expensive this time of year, so I opted for frozen to add some colour to my usual boring ol’ oatmeal. Along with a hearty drizzly of sunflower seed butter.

Nice and filling!

I’ve noticed that I favour heavier foods with more protein and fats in the winter than my more salad, fruit and grains-based diet in the summer. I guess that’s normal, but I should probably try to replace some of those heavier meals with fresh fruits n veggies as I must admit I’m feeling a bit rotund, Winnie-the-Pooh styles!

4 thoughts on “boredom baking

  1. Um, you can do laundry at my place any old time. I can easily be bribed with baked goods! 🙂

    Your soup looks delish, and just perfect for a drizzly winter day. Not to mention, curry, sweet potatoes, and chickpeas are some of my favorite foods!

  2. I’ve had a “company-for-laundry” situation going with my parents ever since my housemate left and took the washing machine with her… somehow I think my parents would prefer cookies to me hanging around eating their chocolate and drinking their coffee. 😛

    Well done for using dried legumes! I’m terrible at that because I rarely plan meals in advance 😛

  3. Excellent, you can never have too many recipes for curry! It’s such a versatile and comforting dish now matter what you throw in. Definitely gotta stock up on sweet potatoes next time, that sounds particularly well paired with the inherent heat of those spices.

Leave a Reply

