toronto bites

I just came back from a nice li’l trip to Toronto where I watched a friend participate in an intense culinary competition, ate Chinese food (kung hei fat choi!), walked enough to give both of my feet giant blisters, spent time in my favourite bookstores and got new drawing pens!

[I’m not very good with the chopsticks.]

I also checked out two french bakeries: Le Matin in Leslieville (amazing brioche) and Clafouti in Trinity-Bellwoods (who knew raisin bread could be so delicious). And finally went to the White Squirrel to drink hot apple cider and draw with Mlex 🙂

I enjoy cafes with interesting decor, like this giant map of Toronto:

I’ve been experimenting with hummus in my baby food processor, with mixed results. This batch turned out pretty well – I kept it simple and used:
~1 c chickpeas
~2 Tbsp tahini
2 cloves garlic
Salt and pepper
Juice of half a lemon
Splash of olive oil
Water, to thin it out

Chopped carrots make the perfect dipping instrument!
***

Chocolatey hot cereal has been making the rounds…

I’m amazed by how much chocolate flavour is imparted by 1 Tbsp of cocoa powder! Tastes especially great with a pinch of cinnamon and topped with thawed frozen raspberries and pb.

After mixing -> looks a bit nicer
***

Breakfast isn’t complete without some delicious coffee or tea. I found this maple black tea at Tealish (located on Queen West, near Trinity Bellwoods Park) and it is exactly what I hoped for! Lovely aroma and actually not too sweet, considering the inclusion of bits of maple sugar.

Time for another savoury recipe! I made curried vegetables + tempeh in coconut milk (recipe adapted from the never-failing How It All Vegan) for a quick dinner last night and I am already excited for leftovers!

Don’t let the bland appearance fool you – this dish is spicy, flavourful, and comforting for them mid-winter blues.

INGREDIENTS
Olive oil
1 onion, sliced
3 cloves garlic, minced
1 Tbsp red curry paste
1 green pepper, diced
2 large carrots, diced
1/2 large cauliflower, cut into florets
2 stalks broccoli, ditto
1 block tempeh, cubed
1 Tbsp curry powder
1/2 tsp cumin
1/2 tsp turmeric
Pinch of hot chili flakes
1 c coconut milk
1 c peas
3 Tbsp Braggs, soy sauce or tamari

In a large saucepan or wok, saute the onion, garlic, and curry paste on med-high until onions are translucent.

Add vegetables, tempeh, and spices. Cook about 5 min.

Add coconut milk, cover, and reduce heat to low. Simmer about 20 min, stirring occasionally, until vegetables are tender.

Stir in peas and soy sauce, and cook uncovered, stirring constantly until most of liquid is absorbed.

Serve over your grain of choice! Rice, quinoa, couscous…[I used wheatberries]

[Serves 4]

2 thoughts on “toronto bites

  1. Ha, you want to talk cinnamon in oatmeal? Okay, here goes- I consume approximately 5 pounds (yes, pounds) of ground cinnamon per year on my morning oatmeal alone. I know this because I order in bulk, and was just looking over this past year’s worth of invoices, and I only use that particular cinnamon in my oats. Kinda… Scary.

Leave a Reply

