howdy, chowder

This was one of those recipes that I’ve been meaning to make for a while, but I kept putting off buying the ingredients ! This is what happens when you have to walk to the grocery store and don’t like carrying home heavy things. LAZY PANTS.

Anyway, I finally bought that frozen corn and large container of almond milk and yes, the soup was well worth it. Sweet Potato, Carrot, and Corn Chowder:

Recipe based on 125 Best Vegan Recipes (Maxine Chuck & Beth Gurney):

[Serves 4 to 6]
2 Tbsp olive oil
1 onion
2 cloves garlic, minced
1 sweet potato, diced
2 small carrots, diced
500g frozen corn, thawed
1/4 tsp cumin
1/4 tsp chili powder
1/4 tsp hot pepper flakes
4 c unsweetened almond milk (one could also use part milk, part water)
1/2 c dried potato flakes (this can be found at bulk stores)
Salt & pepper, to taste

Heat oil in a large soup pot over medium heat, then add onion and garlic. Cook 3 min.

Add carrots, sweet potato, corn, and spices. Cook about 5 min, stirring, until vegetables begin to soften.

Add almond milk and bring to a boil. Then lower heat and simmer 15-20 min.

Whisk in potato flakes and cook another couple of minutes.

At this point you can either eat as is, or puree half of the soup with an immersion blender for a smoother texture. This is what I did.

Top with salt & pepper, and perhaps some nutritional yeast as well!

Leftovers for breakfast:

Look how nice it is outside!!

Sunny and above 0?! Not your typical Canadian winter, and I am rather grateful for that.

I am just happy to be outside under the blue skies!!

I’m going to pimp my 8tracks account again ’cause I made another mix! This one is mostly folk and suitable for a nice stroll 🙂

2 thoughts on “howdy, chowder

  1. I don’t think I could live in Canada at all…it still looks freezing to me, sun or no sun! Haha!
    Btw, I was just dreaming of chowder today! It’s been in my crave list for some reason.

Leave a Reply

