sounds of the 70s

I listened to quite a lot of late 70s/early 80s alt bands when I was in high school. I recently acquired most of Tom Verlaine’s (from the band Television) solo discography and it’s takin’ me back! I particularly like this song:

And of course the whole Marquee Moon album is classic:

I took a trip to the Kitchener Market this weekend and acquired loads of cheap produce (there are few things I love more than cheap fruits and veggies). Apples, berries, carrots, broccoli, peppers, and beans, all for about $7! Alors, I had to figure out what to do with several pounds of delicious Empire apples.

Applesauce to the rescue!

Ridiculously simple – just dice as many apples as you can spare ( I used 6), boil in a large saucepan for about 30 min, add the juice of half a lemon, a spot of agave nectar, and 1 tsp ground cinnamon.

Eat as is, orrrrr use to bake up a spiced apple loaf!

Recipe adapted from AllRecipes:

1 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon ground cloves
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 cup vegetable oil
1/4 cup unsweetened applesauce
1/2 cup sugar
1 egg, beaten
1/4 teaspoon vanilla extract
1 cup apples – peeled, cored, and coarsely chopped
1/2 cup walnut pieces, toasted
Maple syrup, optional

In medium bowl, combine flour, cinnamon, cloves, baking soda, baking powder and salt; set aside.

In large bowl, mix oil, applesauce, sugar, egg, vanilla and apples.

Stir into flour mixture. Add walnuts and mix lightly.

Pour batter into greased 8-in. x 4-in. loaf pan. Glaze loaf with maple syrup, if you want!

Bake at 350 degrees F for 40-45 minutes or until toothpick comes out clean.

Cool for 10 minutes on wire rack before removing from pan.

**Makes 1 loaf, or 12 to 16 servings**

Perfect for afternoon tea.

Had a busy day yesterday, and upon arriving home in the evening, all I wanted was a giant bowl full o’ curried veggies and tofu.

So I opened my trusty copy of How It All Vegan and made exactly that!

Onion + garlic + coconut milk + Thai curry paste + curry powder + cumin = basis for amazing flava

Happiness is a warm, spicy home-cooked meal after traipsing around in the snow.

2 thoughts on “sounds of the 70s

  1. Agh, I swear I am getting ripped off at St. Lawrence! Oh vell, I shall roast up my beets and spaghetti squash soon enough.

    Love seeing Kitchener on your blog in general 🙂

Leave a Reply

