full of fibre

So this “no white food” challenge is going pretty well (it’s kind of a misnomer because milk alternatives and tofu are allowed). I have definitely been eating more vegetables – things like celery, which I don’t normally buy because it’s hard to eat a whole bunch, squash, and sweet potatoes – LOTS of sweet potatoes. Love zem.

[Roasted garlic potatoes from How It All Vegan]

Sweet potatoes also made an appearance in this Moroccan Stew, a wonderful recipe from a farm friend.

Never too much parsley!

MOROCCAN STEW

Cook the following in a large frying pan in1 Tbsp olive oil until soft (about 5 min):

1 onion, chopped
2 stalks celery, diced
1 green pepper, diced
2-4 cloves garlic, minced

Add the following:

3 c veg broth
2 medium sweet potatoes, cubed
1 can diced tomatoes
1 c dry red lentils OR 1 can chickpeas, drained (you could pre-cook the lentils but adding them dry seems to work fine as they cook fairly quickly)
1 Tbsp lemon juice
2 tsp ginger root, minced
1 tsp each: cumin, coriander curry powder, chili powder
Salt & pepper

Bring to a boil, then lower heat and simmer 20-25 min.

Finally, add the following:

1/4 c raisins
2 Tbsp peanut butter
Chopped cilantro, to taste ( I used parsley since I don’t love cilantro)

Sh’boom!

What, more of them orange spuds?

This is sort of my version of a diner breakfast. Ve haff: toast soldiers, leftover roasted sweet potatoes, spinach, a fried egg, and some avocado on its last legs.

So much goodness.

A slight problem I have encountered is that more veggies = more fibre, and I already eat a pretty fibrous diet. Consequently, my stomach has been suffering a bit. A few things I find that help with the aches and pains:

1. Lemon-ginger tea – I like Yogi tea (or simply boiled water with ginger root)
2.  A few spoonfuls of kefir after dinner
3. Yoga!  With lots of twists and side extensions.

Y’know what else always helps? Park jaunts with friends…

SPRINGTIME? What is this?

My friend rocking some magenta shades and fabulous wind-blown hair!

My latest non-fic read from the library: The Town That Food Saved by Ben Hewitt. It’s about a small community in Vermont that has been revitalized by a group of farmers that developed a local food system. Inspiring stuff!

Taboo cards (we played some en français), wrap, iced coffee, cigar, nail polish. How sophisticated.

Okay so I am obsessed with this song:

What is with me and UK pop lately? I think I can attribute it to the increasingly warm weather that makes me want to jump around to upbeat tunes.

2 thoughts on “full of fibre

  1. Those roasted potatoes look incredible! And I am such a fun of lemon ginger tea (preferably lemongrass and ginger tea). Hope the stomach settles down for you soon 🙂

  2. We make roasted sweet potatoes at home too! The moroccan stew looks so fab and I would totally be the person to use lentils AND chickpeas but I heart them both. And haha, I totally agree with the “there’s no such thing as too much parsley” statement because I love parsley as well! 😀

Leave a Reply

