la route verte…J’AIME ÇA

Scenic bike paths make me deliriously happy.

La Route Verte is a network of bike routes spanning nearly 5,000km of rural and urban Quebec. To cap off the long weekend I biked about 15km along the sentier des Voyageurs on the Gatineau side of the Ottawa River to Aylmer, looped back to the Pont Champlain and then returned east on the Ottawa pathway for a total of about 31km. And it was wonderful!

I love the fact that you needn’t escape far from the city to find a bit of nature.

Some rugged shoreline, oh yes.

CANNOT GET ENOUGH OF THE VIEWS.

And we’re back on the Ottawa side –

So sweaty. Had to go for a splash in the river, despite its murkiness.

All in all, I’d say it was a good (albeit solitary) long weekend.

It’s pretty neat how cycling makes the city seem so accessible. I feel like I can get pretty much wherever I want to by bike (and work them quads at the same time). Of course, the same could be said for transit, but riding a bus really doesn’t compare. There are few things more exhilarating than pedaling one’s heart out, being rewarded with amazing vistas and feeling totally wiped out but happy at the end [I realise that 31km isn’t exactly an epic bike ride, but I’m working my way back into it…plus it was really hot out].

One thought on “la route verte…J’AIME ÇA

  1. Love your photos! They remind me of hazy summer days. Also totally jealous of your biking capabilities. 31 km is a lotta distance, woman!

Leave a Reply

