journey to the wilds of québec

I pedalled my heart out yesterday and did a nice 48km ride to Aylmer and back, with a few small detours. Okay, so it’s not exactly rugged Canadian shield territory here but the bike trail along the Ottawa River did feel rather nicely removed from urban living!

This is near the Deschênes rapids, I believe:

Blue biking shoes 🙂

I made my way along the river and up to Aylmer’s main street, Rue Principale, to scope out a bar I have heard good things about, L’autre oeil. I haven’t graduated to drinking alone yet so I didn’t stop this time but I certainly plan to return with a friend or two! Apparently they have 540 types of bière….whoa now. It’s true what they say, bikes ‘n beer = the perfect pairing. 

Ha! Image courtesy of Pabst, of course.

You know what else goes well together? Biking and blues! I’ve been cycling down to LeBreton Flats after work to hear the sweet sounds of Ottawa Bluesfest. Because I am cheap. And can only afford to shell out for one festival this summer. And duhhh, I chose Osheaga!

Anyway, I’m really glad one can chill right outside the festival fence. Sure, I can’t really see the performers, but the sound is just fine and it’s super relaxing to sit by the river while the sun is setting and get music’d away.

So far I’ve “seen” Dirty Projectors, Plants & Animals, and Sleigh Bells. Planning on catching Grimes, Blitzen Trapper, Thievery Corporation, and Hey Rosetta in the next couple of days.

Sometimes all ya need is some feel-good Canadiana that brings back memories of canoe trips in Temagami, eh?

Leave a Reply

