back T.O.

Ottawa->Portland->Toronto (with a brief stop in the wild lands of Hamilton)

What adventures! Alas, I am back home and into the daily grind of school now.

I am excited about my 2nd (and hopefully final) year of grad school but I miss working with these awesome people at EnviroCentre! Luckily, I get to stay on to do social media and website updates which makes me feel less bad for not applying to any T.A. jobs.

Image

This basically sums up my all-too-brief school trip to Portland: Image

Yeah, I could definitely live there. If it is really the place where young people go to retire, sign me up!

Let’s see, before that I spent a sweet weekend volunteering at Arboretum, an arts, music, and gastronomy festival in downtown Ottawa.  Everything was so well thought-out- it was a delight to take part in.

There were installations made up junk materials…

Image

Hot bikes…

Image

Howlin’ wolves…

Image

…and lots of hill-side lounging to dreamy music. Side note: I don’t “get” Alex Lukashevsky and his bird-chirping melodies.  Working on it!

Image

I also spend some time exploring the Ottawa River’s many gems, like this old railroad bridge by the O-Train Pathway:

Image

Image

So much cool art.

Image

20130818_151208

Just loverly.

Missin’ my Saturday morning coffee (from the Ministry of Coffee) and silly book reading in Minto Park! Oh Ottawa, we will reunite soon enough. PS I like Toronto too, but there is just something very ~cute~ and ~small town~ about Ottawa that appeals to low-key sensibilities.

20130818_193611

2 thoughts on “back T.O.

Leave a comment